Other Masonic Organizations

York Rite
The York Rite is actually a descriptive term used for three cooperative groups (which include the Royal Arch, Royal and Select Masters and the Knights Templar) that confer a total of seven Degrees and three Orders in the United States. The Degrees and Orders making up the York Rite are considered concordant to the first Three Degrees, meaning that the York Rite confers additional Masonic Degrees that enlarge and expand on the first Three Degrees. You must already be a Master Mason before you can join the York Rite.

Scottish Rite
Supporting free inquiry, the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite seeks not to teach men the truth in a dogmatic or religious sense, but instead, it asks the questions, and helps the learner to find their own answers. In the end, each man must find the truth for himself. The twenty-nine Degrees of the Scottish Rite teach specific lessons that expand on the lessons of the first Three Degrees of Masonry. Using parallel examples from earlier cultures that are portrayed in full theatrical performances, the Scottish Rite Degrees raise questions and challenge us to think.

Promoting a much more informal atmosphere, the Ancient Accepted Nobles of the Mystic Shrine wear red fezzes, ride little cars in parades, sponsor circuses, and do other wacky things to raise money for their principal charity, 23 children’s hospitals throughout North America.

Order of the Eastern Star
Created in 1850, the Order of the Eastern Star is a fraternal Order based on teachings from the Bible. The Order of the Eastern Star is open to men who are Master Masons, and female relatives, spouses, and descendants of Master Masons.

Order of DeMolay
DeMolay confers initiation and knighthood on boys, followed by awards of merit. Its members hold office and conduct the ritual and business of the Chapter, teaching boys leadership skills, financial responsibility, civic awareness, and public speaking. Today, membership is open to boys between the ages of 12 and 21.

Order of Rainbow Girls
Although its teachings are based on Christian writings used to show basic values integral to many religions, the Order of Rainbow Girls is open to girls of all religions between the ages of 11 and 21.

Daughters of the Nile
The Daughters of the Nile is an international fraternal organization for women 18 years or older, who are related by birth or marriage to a Shriner, Master Mason, or Daughter of the Nile or is a majority member in Good Standing of a Masonic-related organization for girls. The members of Daughters of the Nile are proud of their long association with Shriners International and their continuing support of Shriners Hospitals for Children.

For a more extensive list of other appendant organizations, click here.